Eric J. Romanino Hall of Fame

  • At the regular meeting of the Board of Education on Monday, December 8, 2014, the Board adopted a resolution designating the Hall of Fame as the "Eric J. Romanino - Beacon High School Athletic Hall of Fame" in honor of his many contributions to the School District in his 34 years of service.

    Established in 1996, the Beacon High School Athletic Hall of Fame provides an opportunity for the school to recognize athletes, coaches, and others for their outstanding athletic accomplishments or contributions to athletics at the district, local, state or national levels.

    The goal of the Hall of Fame committee is to seek, assess and select inductees to the Hall of Fame. Applications are accepted year round and reviewed and vote on by the Hall of Fame Committee yearly. The nomination criteria and voting process shall be followed as per the Hall of Fame By Laws. The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be at the Homecoming football game in the fall.

Hall of Fame Inductees

  • 1998: Thomas "Tucker"Blanchfield, Melio Bettina, Harry Carson, Jim Gauriloff, George Hughes, Raymond Humphrey, Anthony Komisar, Joe Mordas, Murray Milligan, Nate Milligan, Richard           "Digger" Phelps, 1952 Football Team, Dorothy Vereen  Hall of Fame, 1998

    1999: Jack Dexter, Brian Plimley, Cathy McCarthy Schetter, Edward Stietz, Veronica Wakley, Evan Whitson, 1989 Softball Team Hall of Fame 1999

    2000: James "Bubba" Faison, Floyd Jones, Richard Kolakoski, George LaVelle, Kris Anne Rokitowski, Joe Valentin, 1991 Baseball Team  Hall of Fame, 2000

    2001: Killy Hayden, Lee Radford, Michael Slinskey, Michael Smith, The 1984 4 x 100 Relay Team  Hall of Fame, 2001

    2002: Richard "Dick" DiBasio, Jo Anne Faulds, Sharyn Seaman, Yann Thefaine, Joe Vallo, 1961 Golf Team, 1998 Girls' Soccer Team  Hall of Fame, 2002

    2003: Mark Morgan, Nicole Petrie Lucas, 1992-93 Wrestling Team, Cathy Winnick, Brian Haley, Jose Rodriguez  Hall of Fame, 2003

    2004: Garry "Goose" McCray, John Robinson, 1996 Boys' Bowling Team  Hall of Fame, 2004

    2005: Dave Brewer, Christopher Eve, Bernardo "Chicky" Valentin  Hall of Fame, 2005

    2007: Nick Boonstra, Vito P. DiCesare, Emily Lopez, Warren Palmer, Robert Resek, Andrea Way-Davis, 1969-1972 Ski Teams  Hall of Fame, 2007

    2008: Matt Sheers, Ralph Steffanci, 1998 Baseball Team  Hall of Fame, 2008

    2009: Patrick Haley, Martinia Heath, George Steitz, 1960 Boys' Cross Country Team  Hall of Fame, 2009

    2010: Bob Cahill, James Martin, Matt Nevins, Bryan Ortquist, Scott Tompkins, Talaya Wilkins, 1999 Boys' Tennis Team  Hall of Fame, 2010

    2011: Alvin "Satch" Griffin, Eric Jones, Patrick Kerr, Nick McPartland, Edward Pietrowski, LaQuasia Wade, Vernon Way, 2003 Boys' Basketball Team  Hall of Fame, 2011

    2012: Stacey McKeon Antalek, Mitchell Katz, Ryan Powers, Cory Smith  Hall of Fame, 2012

    2013: 1963 & 1964 Boys Basketball Teams, Jasmine Simmons, Sean Lucas, Michael "Tanker" Tancredi, George Coughlin, Joe Franzenberg  Hall of Fame, 2013

    2014: Edward Zwinscher, Reuben "Yogi" Simmons, Sr., Eric "Romo" Romanino, 1955 & 1956 Football Teams  Hall of Fame, 2014

    2015: Nicole Curtin, Kara Tancredi, Kristen Dexter, Caitlin Morrison, Arman "Arie" Dixon, George "Mickey" McKenzie  Hall of Fame, 2015 

    2016:  Ryan Tompkins, Cathryn Biordi, Allyson Biordi, 1967 & 1968 Boys Basketball Teams Hall of Fame, 2016

    2017John Madera- Class of 1982, Alexander Bowen Jr.- Class of 2011, Vincent Grella - Class of 2011, Thomas Powers - Honorary, Lisa Tompkins - Honorary, The 1982 and 1983 Boys  Track and Field Teams

    2018: Victoria "Tori" Alexander, Tori Kerr, Chelsea Dexter, 1983 and 1984 Girls Spring Track and Field Hall of Fame 2018

    2019: Tony Romanelli Jr, Patrick Schetter, Nick Dinapoli, Talah Hughes, James Hall, Taurus Phillips, Andrew Grella, Paige Rutkoske, David Ryley Hall of Fame 2019

    *2020: After careful consideration, the HOF Committee along with the Athletic Department have decided to postpone the 2020 Beacon Athletics Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony until Winter 2021-2022 due to the Covid-19 pandemic.  An in-person ceremony surrounded by friends, family and colleagues is what makes the honor extremely special for our inductees, so the decision to wait until this can be done was agreed upon.

    2021: 1997 Boys Track & Field Team, 2004 Boys Track & Field Team, Emily Eraca, John Humeston, Sara Sheehan, Northern Morgan Hall of Fame 2021

    2022: 1973-74 Boys Basketball Teams, 2016 Boys Indoor Track & Field Team, Rayvon Grey, Terrel Davis, David Adams, Lauren Schetter, Gabby Lucas Hall of Fame 2022

    2023: 2012 Softball Team, Rodney Paulin, Joe Simmons, Jummie Akinwunmi, Dave Eraca, Lenny Torres, Randy Casale Hall of Fame 2023

Hall of Fame Nomination Information

  • If you would like to nominate someone for the Hall of Fame, the nomination form and Hall of Fame By Laws are available below.

    • The Hall of Fame Committee is accepting applications for the Hall of Fame. Applications are due July 1, 2020.
    • Supporting documentation must be submitted with all applications to be considered for nomination. Nominations will NOT be considered without an application or proper documentation. The application can be found below.


Nomination Information